Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

August 28, 2005 - 6:52 p.m.

Everything on the television these days is talking about the hurricane that's bearing down on New Orleans.
Apparently, with no apparent hyperbole, this is The Big One. The newsguy dropped a teaser before going to commercial that "...this is the hurricane that everyone has been waiting for for fifty years." That caused me to look up from my Maxim, because that's saying a lot.

Fifty years? Didn't the entire southern end of Florida once get frappe'd by a hurricane? Didn't the coast of South Carolina become the coast of Atlanta during a particularly bad storm?

I worry about the Big Easy turning into Venice, Italy before I get a chance to stagger drunkenly down its lengendary, puke-stained streets.

I was thinking that I'm lucky that all we ever have to worry about here in the DFW area are tornadoes, heatwaves and carpetbaggers from up north.

Is there a place in the U.S. that is insulated from the various wraths of Mother Nature?

Is there a place where you won't melt in the summer, freeze in the winter, be relocated involuntarily by tornadoes, hurricanes or floods. Or shaken by earthquakes or flushed by tsunamis?

If anyone has any ideas, I'll be under my bed, reading my Maxim with a flashlight.

 

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!